Environmental Planning and Assessment Caucus


The Environmental Planning & Assessment Caucus’ (EPA Caucus) members share a common vision of truly effective environmental assessment (EA) in Canada, including the integration of EA into development planning.Fall light over the Mackenzie River

What We Do

Through face-to-face meetings and regular communication, the Caucus allows its member groups to bring forward a strong public interest analysis of the many facets of environmental planning and assessment in this country. Among other things, this allows Caucus members to inform the environmental community about developments and issues connected with the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act and its regulations, and allows member groups to fit local initiatives into larger policy contexts.

The strong communication between diverse member groups located in all regions of Canada and the energy, knowledge and "on the ground" experience of its members make the Caucus the most substantive and dynamic network of environmental assessment expertise in Canada today.

RCEN E-Bulletin

Steering Committee

Doug Badger
Environmental Action Committee, AB

Roberta Frampton Benefiel
Grand Riverkeeper Labrador, NL

Hugh Benevides
Montreal, QC

Meinhard Doelle
Ecology Action Centre, NS

Peter Duck
Bow Valley Naturalists, AB

Stephen Hazell
Nature Canada, ON

Joseph Hnatiuk
Canadian Society of Environmental Biologists, AB

Judy Huntley
Castle Crown Wilderness Coalition, AB

Anna Johnston (Co-chair)
West Coast Environmental Law, BC

Jamie Kneen (Co-chair and interim Caucus coordinator)
MiningWatch Canada, ON

Oscar Koren
Slovenian Sports Federation-Environmental Group, ON

Arlene Kwasniak
Alberta Wilderness Association, AB

Pat Moss
Northwest Institute, BC

Michael Poellet
Inter-Church Uranium Committee Educational Cooperative, SK

Gary Schneider
ECO-PEI (Environmental Coalition of Prince Edward Island), PEI

John Sinclair
Green Action Centre, MB

Anna Tilman
Watershed Sentinel, BC

John Werring
David Suzuki Foundation, BC